When you need an aggressive workers’ compensation lawyer in Central Florida, contact Van Dingenen Law. Our zealous attorneys have a passion for fighting for injured workers. Backed by over 25 years of experience handling workers’ compensation matters, we have successfully navigated clients through cases relating to lost wages, medical treatment, and tax-free settlements. Hundreds of millions of dollars in verdicts and settlements have been obtained for injured workers and their families.
Paralyzed Construction Worker $76.6 Million
A young construction worker was rendered a quadriplegic during an accident while working on a concrete seawall.
Paralyzed Bank Teller $26.9 Million
After a trial, the Van Dingenen team was able to obtain a $26.9 Million dollar jury verdict on behalf of our client who was injured at work.
Paralyzed Security Guard $7.5 Million
The Van Dingenen team obtained a $7.5 Million dollar judgment on behalf of our client who was injured at their job as a security guard.
Paralyzed Truck Driver $3 Million
Our team negotiated a $3 Million dollar settlement on behalf of our client who became paralyzed due to a work injury.
On-the-job injuries come with their share of inconvenient setbacks. It's unfair for an insurance company to delay or deny your compensation. You deserve to receive your medical and lost wage benefits in a timely manner. The attorneys at Van Dingenen Law fight to secure these benefits and favorable settlements for the injured workers we represent. Let us fight on your behalf.
Workers’ Compensation — It’s All We Do.
Workers’ compensation matters are very unique. Because we exclusively handle workers’ compensation cases, our attorneys have repeatedly succeeded in recouping maximum compensation benefits and settlements for injured workers. Allow the Van Dingenen Law team to put their proven legal abilities to work for you.
Q:How much time do I have to report my workplace injuries?
A:You only have 30 days within the date of your work injury to report it to your employer. Report your injuries as soon as possible to avoid any delays or errors on your claim.
Q:How much will I be paid for workers’ comp?
A:Once your workers’ comp claim has been approved, you will receive 66 2/3% of your average weekly wage on a bi-weekly basis. The average weekly wage will be determined by calculating your wages from 91 days prior to your injury date, and if your injuries occurred before October 1, 2003, it will be calculated using the 13 weeks prior to your injury date.
Q:Does workers’ comp cover my lost wages?
A:While your first 7 days of wages lost to injury will not be reimbursed under workers’ comp, your benefits should include a portion of your lost wages on the 8th day after missing work. If the injury will take longer than 21 days to heal, you may be entitled to lost wages for the first 7 days as well.
Q:Do I have to pay taxes on workers’ comp?
A:No. You only have to pay income taxes if you are sent back to work for “light duty” while you are still seeing an authorized doctor.
Q:Is there a statute of limitations on my workers’ comp benefits?
A:Under Florida law, you have 2 years to file a workers’ compensation claim for on-the-job injuries. If your condition was cumulative over a long period of time, you will have 2 years from the date you knew (or should have known) that your job caused your injuries. After your claim is approved, you’ll also have to receive treatment for it at least once every 365 days with the authorized physician in order to continue receiving benefits. If you’re receiving disability benefits and your benefits are terminated, you have 1 year to reinstate them.